NCAT A New Super Tribunal In NSW

By November 14, 2012 Uncategorized No Comments

On 26 October 2012, the NSW Attorney General Greg Smith SC announced a plan to integrate 23 of the state’s tribunals and bodies into a new overarching tribunal, NCAT in order to provide a simple, quick and effective process for resolving disputes. Mr Smith said,

The NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT) will be a one-stop shop for almost all state tribunals, ranging from relatively small bodies such as the Chinese Medicine Tribunal through to the much larger Consumer, Trader & Tenancy Tribunal.

NCAT will be divided into specialist divisions, which are:

1. Consumer, Administrative and Equal Opportunity;
2. Occupational and Regulatory;
3. Guardianship; and
4. Victims.

The President of NCAT will be a judge of the Supreme Court in order to ensure its independence and Deputy Presidents with relevant experience will lead the specialist divisions.

NCAT will have an internal appeals panel to provide for speedy and accessible reviews of most tribunal decisions.

NCAT is expected to begin operation in January 2014.

Below is a list of all the tribunals and bodies that will be incorporated into NCAT:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Tribunal

Aboriginal Land Councils Pecuniary Interest and Disciplinary Tribunal

Administrative Decisions Tribunal

Charity Referees

Chinese Medicine Tribunal

Chiropractors Tribunal

Consumer, Trader and Tenancy Tribunal

Dental Tribunal

Guardianship Tribunal

Local Government Pecuniary Interest and Disciplinary Tribunal

Local Land Boards

Medical Radiation Practice Tribunal

Medical Tribunal

Nursing and Midwifery Tribunal

Occupational Therapy Tribunal

Optometry Tribunal

Osteopathy Tribunal

Pharmacy Tribunal

Physiotherapy Tribunal

Podiatry Tribunal

Psychology Tribunal

Vocational Tribunal Appeal Panel

Victims Compensation Tribunal

Posted by Chris Kerin and Chanele Mao

Want to get in touch? Contact me